Little Black Dress Designer Fashion Show

Hello, sweet friends, Happy Studded Collar Sunday!

I’d like to start off with a few announcements and thank-yous as well (Have to have an attitude for gratitude!)

First, thank you all so incredibly much for your kind feedback and the love you sent me about the Tootsies Homecoming Lookbook! I had so much fun putting it together for you all, and for your reaction to be so immensely positive was overwhelming. Plus, several of you guys sent me tweets and messages saying it helped you compose a fabulous ensemble for your next dance! I love you all so much and I’m overjoyed that you all enjoyed the post. I’ll do more projects like this in the future for you. (:

I would also send another big thank you to Tootsies for the opportunity to work with you all! I felt like a princess and the dresses, suits, accessories and more were gorgeous. It was such a fun experience and I am eternally grateful for it.

Now, I have one quick announcement before we dive right into the post. I have a new Instagram and Twitter! I’m switching over to an account I already have set up. My new Instagram is @16kayb, and my username for Twitter is also @16KayB. Go follow those accounts if you haven’t already, and in a couple of days I will change the usernames from @16kayb to @studdedcollar for consistency. I’m really active on my social media links, so go check them out. Now, let’s get started with all the fun!

Show1 Show2

Dress: Pimkie | Shoes: Guess | Necklace: Swarovski | Clutch: Mom’s Closet

Bracelet/Ring: Charming Charlie| Earings: Gifted

You all may or may not know that the past two weeks have been occupied by Fashion Week in the world’s various capitals- first New York, then London, and today Milan’s came to a close. While I was unable to attend New York Fashion Week this year, I had the chance to have some local Fashion Week fun! I attended the Little Black Dress Designer Fashion Show and Party at Tootsies earlier this week. Several of Dallas’s fashion elite attended, and I had an amazing time meeting them and enjoing the show!

Show5 Show9 Show10

Such an honor to meet designer Esé (left) and one of Dallas’s fashion elite, Christine (right)

The fashion show was hosted by Tootsies for the Little Black Dress Designer Foundation. This organization gives students and up-and-coming designers the opportunity to re-invent the classic Little Black Dress to potentially win an academic scholarship, funding for their brand, and career networking opportunities to kickstart their career. It’s an amazing association that has already awarded over $100,000 in scholarships to students since it was founded by Jeff Shell n 2008. Tell me this isn’t an amazing concept? (Seriously don’t, because you’d be dead wrong.) (:

Show6IMG_1074

Had an amazing time attending the show with my beautiful best friend (:

I opted for a black dress because not only was it the theme of the show, but the little black dress is a classic statement. This gorgeous dress has a classic simplicity and became my canvas for the evening. I love that the underlay of the dress is like a bandage, or body-con, dress, while the overlay is a flowy, flirty, sheer material that gives the dress a higher level of formality and grace.

I feel like when girls wear black they always have a pop of loud color(s). That is totally okay (in moderation), but another option is to add color variety through metallics! I wore this gorgeous silver diamond drop necklace from Swawrovski, diamond studs, and then switched it up with gold Guess shoes and an all black clutch with divine gold and diamond detailing. My ring and bracelet had golden and jewel accents as well. It takes a plain black dress from drab to fab without wearing a fluorescent pink belt or crimson blue pumps. (:

Show18 Show19 Show17

I had an unbelievably wonderful time at the show, and I thank Tootsies immensely. The show was beautiful and the dresses were to die for. Now, ladies, I want you to remember this quote- it’s golden:

“One is never over-dressed or underdressed in a little black dress,” ~ Karl Lagerfeld

Show16

Much love to you all.

Stay Fab,

Kay B xx

7 thoughts on “Little Black Dress Designer Fashion Show

  1. Wow, Karen, you are so so gorgeous! That dress is so pretty. (Tell your mom she looks beautiful, too). This event is so cool for giving out scholarships! Keep up the hard work! xoxo
    P.S. I love how you are able to pull of all of these trends while still looking completely classy.

Leave a comment