Nailing the Summer Mani & Nail Art Inspo

Hey hey hey everyone! I have been on a posting frenzy recently, adding new pieces almost everyday, and I hope you’re all enjoying them! I just feel that it is my duty to keep you all informed about the latest and the greatest in the fashion world right now.

Today, I come to you with an update on some great nail polish hues for the Summer and some nail art inspiration! If our outfits and makeup are going to be on trend, then our nails have to be too! Let’s get into it!

Summer Nails1

The colors I used for today’s nail looks are Sally Hansen’s Coral Reef in shade 405, Breezy Blue in 481, and Lacey Lilac in 270. I also used Sinful Colors Professional’s Snow Me White in 101 and Forever 21’s Nail Color in Country Club Pink.

Look 1: Coral Reef #405

Summer Nails2

This polish, Coral Reef, is in Sally Hansen’s Xtreme Wear line, and it definitely lives up to its name. This nail polish lasts for a good 1.5 to 2 weeks and appears beautiful and glossy when dried; it’s definitely my favorite line out of all the Sally Hansen products. This coral color is perfect for summer, adding a pop of color to your nails as it screams bright and fun!

Summer Nails3 Summer Nails4

For nail art I chose to do some simple white dots using the Sinful Colors Professionals Snow Me White in 101. I used a dotting tool to place four dots along the third half of my nail towards the bottom. I did this for my pointer, middle, and pinky nails, but on my thumb and ring finger I placed four dots down the middle of my nail for some contrast.

TIP: Don’t have a dotting tool? Get a bobby pin and unfold it enough so that you can hold it well. Use the rounded end of the pin to make your dots!

Look 2: Lacey Lilac #270

Summer Nails5

This is another polish in the Xtreme Wear line and I love it just as much as the others. I don’t usually wear purple nail polish, but once I applied this one, I really really liked it. It’s soft, cool and feminine and it’s actually a little lighter than depicted in the picture. If you’re not one to wear bolder, brighter colors, then this is the polish for you this summer! It’s soft and fun. Like a teddy or marshmallows…

Summer Nails6 Summer Nails7

This is most definitely my favorite design that I’ll show you all today. I really fell for the lilac color and didn’t want a design to overpower it, so I decided to do an accent nail instead. I used a small brush to paint the chevron detail and I think it came out pretty nicely. If I did a design on all the nails, I feel that it would have been too busy.

Look 3: Breezy Blue #481

Summer Nails10

As I was painting my nails I forgot to take a picture with the blue polish alone! So here is a shot with the nail art and the bottle of nail polish (again, from the Xtreme Wear line.) I have been wanting to buy a bright yet soft blue nail polish for a while, so I picked this up at the store the other day and it applied beautifully. What I love most about these polishes is that they apply so smoothly and dry without any air bubbles (my biggest nail polish pet peeve.) Most often you only need one coat of polish to do the job!

Summer Nails9 Summer Nails8

I decided to do another nail art look with polka dots, and incorporate the accent nail trend but decorate the other nails as well. My ring finger has multiple polka dots and my others have one sole dot in the center. I used the Snow Me White again, and I’m really pleased with how this turned out!

Look 4: Country Club Pink

Summer Nails13 Summer Nails14

If you’ve read some of my last posts, you may remember this polish from my “Country Clubbin'” post! The pink shade really grew on me, and I like that it’s light but just light enough to be noticeable. This pink shade is actually one of the colors of the Summer season, so I am pretty happy that I bought this! Pick up a pink polish like this in the store when you can and rock it for your own mani.

Look 5: Snow Me White #101

Summer Nails11 Summer Nails12

Last but not least, the it color of the Summer, the clean and crisp white. White has been the standout color for this season, and I had to include this classic. Besides being known to make one look a bit tanner (though that’s not an issue for me…ha!), the simplicity of white nails is ultra chic and goes with any outfit you choose. Rock those white hot nails, ladies!

If you try out any of these looks, then tag me in your nail art pictures and I’ll try to tweet/ retweet some! I highly recommend the Sally Hansen polishes, so do check them out. (:

Stay Fab,

Kay B xx

Leave a Reply

