Happy Homecoming + Style Steal

Hello, my loves, guess who’s back? Yours truly, of course.

For those of you who thought I had slowly faded away from the fashion/ blogging scene, let it be known that I am still quite present and am always on the scene. The month of October was probably my busiest of the academic year thus far (granted that it’s only been three months) and TSC had to take the backseat. Don’t fret, darlings, I am back from my fashion blogger’s coma and going at full speed ahead, so get ready for a fun ride.

This past week was one of Homecoming celebrations- from the Homecomig Dance, to homecoming week, to game this past Friday, everyday had something fun in store. Of course I have to let you in on the part you are all dying to know about- what I wore to the dance! I’m really excited to show you guys because I’m really in love with the ensemble I put together. The best part- it’s a Style Steal!! So, without further ado, let’s get into it!

IMG_2338[1] IMG_2202[1]IMG_2203[1]

Dress: Teeze Me | Necklace and Earrings: Swarovski | Ring: Gifted | Shoes: Steve Madden

Before any of you smarty-pants out there start saying, “You’re wearing a pastel and that’s a spring/summer color! What kind of Fashion Guru are you!” Pipe down little ones, what I’m wearing actually isn’t light enough to be a pastel. This gorgeous ice blue dress with sheer lining, pleating, and tulle underlay made me feel like an absolute princess.

I love the positioning of the waistband that cinches my waist in and the way it meets the point of the triangular sheer material in the center of the dress’s bustier! Claps for Teeze Me, this design is very flattering! It’s a great combination of femininity and class, and then light, mod edge with the sky high strapped platforms from Mr. Madden. (:

IMG_2188[1] IMG_2085[1]

Enjoy the absolutely necessary shoe picture and grand “Hoco Selfie” with me and these beautiful ladies. ❤

Now, do any of you know of a lady by the name of Lupita Nyong’o? Well this wonderful actress has quickly become a style icon and a particularly breathtaking blue Prada dress of hers has become quite iconic as well. If you know the breathtaking garment that I am referring to, then you know that Ms. Nyong’o and I are practically twins. Here comes the Style Steal!

IMG_2241[1]

Lupita’s dress is known far and wide as one of the most amazing to grace the red carpet. With a few modest differences, my dress easily parallels her own and can be viewed as Prada Jr. Lupita’s plunging neck line is mimicked in my own dress but my garment  has a sheer overlay covering my chest (Modest is hottest, ladies). The pleating, though more pronounced in my dress’s skirt, is quite similar to M. Nyong’o’s. Finally, because my dress is short, I opted for drop earrings rather than studs for a healthy and fashionable balance and matching drop-pendant necklace.

Homecoming this year was so much fun, and I couldn’t be happier with the way my look turned out. What did you wear to homecoming? Tell me in the comments below or tweet me pictures @StuddedCollar! As Homecoming season and October have come to a close (Happy November!), I am so happy to welcome the cool weather and the holiday season. I just know that this will be quite a fun, fabulous, and fashionable one. I’ve got some fun in store for you guys, and would love to hear your ideas for posts! Comment some ideas or tweet me, reach me on Facebook, Instagram, you know the drill… (: Well, let the holiday fun begin! Keep smiling, beauties. Until next time…

IMG_2205[1]

Stay Fab,

Kay B xx

2 thoughts on “Happy Homecoming + Style Steal

  1. See this is awesome because all I could say was, “That dress looks AMAZING on you!” but you actually can explain WHY things are flattering using fashion terms, which makes your fashion statement easy to apply to other stuff. You’re gorgeous, though, and that contributes too 😉 love you

Leave a Reply

